Sunday, December 26, 2010

Bhubaneswar the city of Temples

Swosti Premium Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar the capital city of the Indian state of Orissa. Its the largest city of Orissa after old capital Cuttack, once the capital of ancient Kalinga, the city has a long history of 3000 years and is today a center of economic and religious importance. Historically Bhubaneswar has been known by different names such as Toshali, Kalinga Nagari, Nagar Kalinga, Ekamra Kanan, Ekamra Khetra and Mandira Malinya Nagari. The modern city of Bhubaneswar was designed by the German architect Otto Königsberger in 1946. It became the political capital of the state of Odisha in 1948, a year after India gained its independence from Britain. Before Bhubaneswar, Cuttack was the capital of Odisha until 1947. Bhubaneswar and Cuttack are together known as the "twin cities" of Odisha.

As per a comprehensive development plan prepared by IIT Kharagpur, the metropolitan area formed by the twin cities has a 2008 population of 1.9 million. The World gazetteer has the metro area population estimated at 1,666,429 making it the 22nd largest urban center in the country.

Infosys Bhubaneswar
Known as the temple city of India, the city boasts of having around 600 temples. These temples span the entire history of Kalinga architecture.Its unique sculptural and architectural heritage, coupled with the sanctity as Ekamrakshetra make this one of the five great religious centers of Odisha since early medieval days

Bhubaneswar comes under the category of tier 2 cities of India is one of the cleanest and planned city of Modern India. It is an emerging IT hub and one of the fastest developing cities of India in recent years.The city is surrounded by dense canopy of forests, picturesque chandaka and nandankanan makes it one of the cleanest and greenest city of India next to Chandigarh.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...