Sunday, July 11, 2010

abhinav bindra

Abhinav Bindra, is the current World and Olympic Champion in Air Rifle shooting. He is the first ever Indian to win an individual Gold Medal since 1900 – the year our country participated in the Olympic games for the first time. His  unparalleled achievements in the shooting  arena have made the nation proud and he has been bestowed with honors  from a very young age due to his consummate performances on the international stage. He received the Arjuna Award at the young age of  17 and has been the youngest recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards – the highest sporting honor in the country at 18 years.  Abhinav has also been decorated with the Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian honor, in 2009 after his historic Gold Medal win at the Beijing Olympics.
He was the first of many thousands of relay runners who will carry the baton for the New Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games, across the globe.  The  New Delhi  2010 Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton Relay commenced from Buckingham Palace on October 29 with Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II passing the baton in the presence of our Hon’ble President Smt Pratibha Patil.

Recently, he was honored with the two top awards at the first ever SAHARA Indian Sports Awards :
    • he was adjudged as “The Sportsman of the Year”
    • his gold medal winning feat at the Beijing Olympics was declared as “the Most Memorable Moment of the Year” in Indian Sport

        The Government of India has recently invited him to be a part of their initiatives towards national integration, etc.
• He was the first speaker at the event  “A Nation In Solidarity”. This was hosted by the Ministry of Home Affairs at the behest of the Hon’ble Home Minister Shri P Chidambaram himself and was held in memory of the victims of terror attacks in India including incidents in Mumbai, Delhi, Jaipur, Ahmedabad, …among others. The event was held at India Gate in New Delhi and was dedicated to the cause of the nation coming together in its fight against terror.
• He has also been made a member of Central Selection Committee for the National Youth Awards 2008-09, constituted by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports. This committee is chaired by the Hon’ble Minister of Youth Affairs & Sports Dr M S Gill himself.

Major Achievements :
• Beijing Olympic Gold Medalist 700.5                   2008

• Gold and Silver Medalist at INTERSHOOT Netherlands                  2010

• Gold Medalist Air Rifle Australian Cup, Sydney                                 2007

• Gold Medalist Air Rifle Asian Shooting Championship                       2007

• World Champion Air Rifle World Championship Zagreb                     2006

• Common Wealth Games, Melbourne – Gold, Silver, Bronze medalist    2006

• Asian Shooting Championship Bangkok - Gold Medalist                       2005

• National Champion                                                                                  2005

• Broke the Olym pic Record of 96 Atlanta Olympics at Athens Olympics 2004

• Common Wealth Games Record Holder                                                     2004

• Athens Olympics (Finalist)                                                                      2004

• All American Shooting Championship at Colorado Springs Gold Medalist  2004

• National Champion                                                                               2003

• Bronze Medalist World Cup Munich                                                          2003

• Asian Shooting Championship – Silver Medalist                                          2003

• National Champion                                                                               2002

• Common Wealth Games, Manchester -Gold, Silver, Medalist                         2002

• European Circuit Champion - 7 Gold Medals, 4 Silver, 1 Bronze                     2002

• Junior World Record Holder Air Rifle in Munich                                            2001

• National Champion                                                                               2001

• National Champion                                                                               2000

• National Champion                                                                               1999

• Represented India in 48 World Cups, 3 Common Wealth Games

• 3 Olympics, 3 Asian Games, 6 European Circuit Championship

Key Awards :

• Padma Bhushan                                                                                2009

• Rajiv Gandhi Award                                                                            2009

• Bharat Shiromani Award                                                                      2009

• India Youth Sports Icon                                                                     2009

• NDTV - India Sportsman of the year                                                     2008

• Madhya Pradesh Khel Ratna                                                                2008

• Punjab Praman Patra Award                                                                2006

• Uttaranchal Praman Patra Award                                                          2003

• UT Government Most Elite Sportsman Award                                          2002

• K.K. Birla Award                                                                                2002

• Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award                                                             2001

• Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award                                                                2001

• Arjuna Award                                                                                    2000

Scholarships :
• International Olympic Solidarity Scholarship                                               2008
• International Olympic Solidarity Scholarship                                               2007
• Scholarship - Mittal Champions Trust                                                       2006
• Sahara Sports Scholarship                                                                     2004

• International Olympic Solidarity Scholarship                                               2004
• International Olympic Solidarity Scholarship                                               2003

• Appreciation by Director-American Olympic Training Central, Colarado Springs

Education :• Bachelors in Business Management from University of Colorado
• Pursuing Doctorate in Masters of Business Management
• Diploma in Sports Mental Management from Munich• Lanny School of Mental Management, USA
• Conferred Honorary Doctorate in Literature from SRM University, Chennai on 8th           September, 2008
Business :
 • Director, Abhinav Futuristics Limited
• Director, Abhinav Hotels & Inns Pvt. Ltd
अभिनव बिंद्रा हमारे देश का गर्व है! यह एकमात्र ऐसे खिलाडी रहे हैं जो सन १९९० जब हमारा देश पहली बार ओल्य्म्पिक में प्रवेश लिया तब से एकलौते स्वर्ण पदक विजेता बने!
ऐसे खिलाडी को हम सैट सैट नमस्कार करते हैं!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...